Gaffigan is one of my favorite comics. He has clean, family oriented humor (so I can watch his specials while my kid is awake rather than waiting for her to go to sleep) and he generally avoids political topics (so I can watch his specials without my husband getting mad at the tv and walking away). I love him. This book was almost too much for me though, even being the huge fan that I am. At least, in his stand up, he switches the topics around. He’s funny, don’t get me wrong, but a book’s worth of funny on just one thing, well… that’s asking a lot.

Enough of my thoughts, let’s do some Gaffigan quotations. On why he doesn’t like oysters: “Once I had a friend defensively point out to me, “Pearls come from oysters.” I never really understood his reasoning, but I explained I make a rule not to eat things that also make jewelry. Diamonds come from coal, but we aren’t dipping that into cocktail sauce.” pg 60 (ebook)

On BBQ: “I’ve found barbecue to either be some of the best or the worst food I’ve eaten. There is no in between. Either it’s an amazing meal I can’t stop talking about, or I’m angry that I wasted the energy to lift the food to my mouth. Of course, I still finish the whole plate. As I mentioned before, I am not rude.” pg 72 (ebook)

On organic chips: “These potato chips are cooked with avocado oil, so I can eat ten bags. It’s good for me.” Usually the only discernible difference between a regular potato chip and a “healthy chip” is the difficulty in opening the bag. Supposedly there are good fats and bad fats. I like to think of myself as a good fat. It helps my self-esteem when I look in the mirror.” pgs 119-120 (ebook)

Kale: “People seem to bring up eating kale as if it’s something that’s going to impress me. Guy: I just ate kale. Me: I don’t care.” pg 154

Comparing different kinds of cakes: “Ice cream cakes: I never really understood the appeal of an ice cream cake. They are so temporary. They just end up stressing me out.” pg 401 (ebook)

And, finally, breakfast: You would feel guilty about eating most traditional breakfast items at any other meal during the day, but since it’s the morning, somehow these foods are considered okay. There is an unspoken agreement: “Because you dragged yourself out of that warm, comfortable bed, you can have this stack of cakes covered in syrup glue and a half package of sausages.” pg 416 (ebook)

That’s a good sampling of the book. It goes on for pages, joke after joke. Actually, it’s fairly impressive because of the sheer amount of material that Gaffigan had to construct about food. I suppose it must be on his mind a lot. 🙂

A reading recommendation for this book, even though it doesn’t seem as if the two are related: Primates of Park Avenue by Wednesday Martin. In one of the chapters of Food, Gaffigan talks about going to get New York bagels after dropping his children off at school on the upper east side of Manhattan. I flipped out, having just read Primates of Park Avenue by Wednesday Martin. I realized, Gaffigan jokes all the time about having a very attractive wife, but she HAS to look like that, living where she does. It’s the culture. Read the book!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

