Full title: Making the Cut: The 30-Day Diet and Fitness Plan for the Strongest, Sexiest You 

A collection of recipes, workout tips, and insider training techniques from Jill Michaels, one of the trainers of the television program: The Biggest Loser. She’s hardcore and this book is a reflection of that. Definitely not for everyone, myself included, I’d only recommend it to those who are already in very good shape. Let me make one thing clear, I’m not in “bad” shape, but I am not at the level required to complete these exercises.

So, I nearly killed myself trying to do Day 1 of the circuit training. I have a predictable cycle with fitness books. I read them, get all fired up about changing my diet and amping up my workouts, try it for awhile, then give up. This one, at least, was so hard and I was hurting so bad that I gave it up right away rather than drawing it out to its inevitable conclusion. Her clean eating tips are solid and I’ve added a lot more fresh fruits and veg to my table, but, the workouts are just too hard.

I had my husband helping with the timer and figuring out what I was supposed to do at each step because her descriptions of the exercises are all gathered together in an index at the end. He was encouraging me to stop after the first two minutes, but I insisted on doing at least ten- silly me. The weird frog push-ups were an impossibility from the start. I almost broke my nose when I tried to lower my face to the floor. I had to laugh, it was ridiculous. My only saving grace was that I was using the equipment at my home rather than the gym. If I had humiliated myself like that in public, I might not have been able to give this book the “liked it” three stars.

Some read alikes, for those fitness buffs who just can’t get enough! : This Is Why You’re Sick and Tired: by Jackie Warner, Get Me Skinny by Tony Arreola or, if you’re tired of the exercise and diet merry-go-round: Down Size: 12 Truths for Turning Pants-Splitting Frustration into Pants-Fitting Success by Ted Spiker or Confessions of an Unlikely Runner: A Guide to Racing and Obstacle Courses for the Averagely Fit and Halfway Dedicated by Dana L. Ayers.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Making the Cut by Jillian Michaels

  1. I respect how honest you are about your experience with this! Will you keep up with it? What inspired you to try this in the first place?

    Like

    1. I’ll keep trying in small ways every day to be more healthy, but as for “Making the Cut”- I donated it to the library’s book sale so that someone who is more a match to it can have it. I’ve watched Jillian Michaels on the Biggest Loser for years and I love her can-do attitude and unwavering belief that everyone can scale the heights of fitness as she has. That’s why I picked up her book, I wanted to believe too. Unfortunately, the workouts in here were like trying to stay on the spinning carousel at the park when it’s going too fast- it was just beyond me right now. But, that doesn’t mean that it always will be. 🙂

      Like

      1. Keep trying!! The Jillian Michael’s workouts I’ve seen are all intense; not for the faint of heart. Her can do attitude and positivity have really been inspiring to me. It’s nice to hear positivity, instead of just yelling at people all the time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

