Full Title: The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism

Description from Goodreads: “You’ve never read a book like The Reason I Jump. Written by Naoki Higashida, a very smart, very self-aware, and very charming thirteen-year-old boy with autism, it is a one-of-a-kind memoir that demonstrates how an autistic mind thinks, feels, perceives, and responds in ways few of us can imagine. Parents and family members who never thought they could get inside the head of their autistic loved one at last have a way to break through to the curious, subtle, and complex life within.”

The reviews on this one from my Goodreads friends are very mixed and I understand why. The Reason I Jump touches on a very emotional topic. I’m not an expert on autism so I am completely unqualified to determine if Naoki wrote this book with or without help or the over arching truth of his experiences. However, as a reader, I thought that some of Naoki’s words were very beautiful.

Perhaps he could have connected with more people if he had chosen to write “I” and “me” instead of “us” and “we”. Who can really say that they are able to communicate for a whole group of people- at the end of the day, you can only really speak for yourself.

Naoki talks about difficulties in communicating his feelings, the beauty of nature, the impossibility of controlling his emotions or repetitive actions- knowing that he’s not behaving “normally” but not able to do anything about it. “Please don’t judge us from the outside only. I don’t know why we can’t talk properly. But it’s not that we won’t talk- it’s that we can’t talk and we’re suffering because of it.”pg 24, ebook.

It seems to me that everyone’s lens of perception is different and we can learn from each other if we share our own unique viewpoint. I certainly learned about Naoki’s inner world from this book.

Thank you for reading!

4 thoughts on “The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida

  1. Interesting- I’ve never actually heard of this book. But now I am intrigued.
    Why do you think “us” and “we” is used throughout the book?

    Like

    1. The young man who wrote it, Naoki, suffers from autism and he is offering The Reason I Jump to the world as a memoir for all those who suffer from autism and can’t find the words to describe their lives.

      Like

      1. That’s actually really brilliant. Good for him; I hope that those with autism who read this can help find those words.

        Like

Leave a Reply

