johnturnerFull title: Medicine, Miracles, and Manifestations: A Doctor’s Journey Through the Worlds of Divine Intervention, Near-death Experiences, and Universal Energy. I felt like this memoir was all over the place- from remote viewing to Johrei, prophetic dreams to explanations of brain functions. Dr. John Turner has an incredibly open mind when it comes to integrating traditional Western and holistic medicinal techniques. That was refreshing, but, because he was covering so much material, I felt like he didn’t spend enough time going into detail about the different modalities. I wanted more depth and less breadth.

There were some interesting bits in here though. Dr. Turner experienced, first hand, a case of spontaneous healing. His patient had a large brain tumor and, through the intercession of some monks and some radiation therapy, her tumor completely disappeared: “Here was a case of emotional disarray that when corrected, allowed healing to take place. Was it the patient’s realization or belief in karmic cause of her disease that allowed her brain to join with radiation to expel the foreign invader?… Were surgery and radiation necessary at all? I paced back and forth in my office, pondering the matter.” pg 60

Dr. Turner practiced daimoku (intense chanting of a certain set of words, like a prayer) for two hours a day for a year. Here is what he had to say of the experience: “I believe that chanting sets up resonant circuits in the brain that activate usually quiescent neural pathways. I came to know this feeling of attonement quite well, and after the promised 12 months I discarded the incense sticks, the gong, and the chanting. I could recreate the feeling through meditation… However, I saw no practical way in which to use this complex and time-consuming process for the benefit of my patients.” pg 89-90

Dr. Turner practicing Johrei (a light healing technique) in his surgery: “After placing the last suture, I gave him 20 minutes of intraoperative Johrei, letting Okada’s light flow through a spiritual cord to me, and then to the patient. This was a first for Hawaii and perhaps for any medical center (and surely for any neurosurgical operating room) outside of Japan. (My patient’s) recovery was spectacular…” pg 134 The technique seems strange to me, but if it works, I say use it!

One of the first accounts I have read of remote viewing being used for medical diagnosis and treatment: “…it occurred to me that I should run the cause of this patient’s pain as a remote viewing target and see what Ed Dames could do to arrive at the answer. Not only would this be a confirmation of the power of remote viewing as a method of medical diagnosis, I would also have a chance to witness an expert at work. The results, as you will see, were everything I had hoped for; the patient fared well, much better than if I had tried to wait for the condition to become obvious on examination.” pg 194

If you are looking for more books about neurosurgeons who are considering non-traditional therapies in their practice, try Into the Magic Shop: A Neurosurgeon’s Quest to Discover the Mysteries of the Brain and the Secrets of the Heart by James Doty or Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife by Eben Alexander.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

