bookoftappingOk, friends, prepare yourself to go on a journey with your favorite hippie librarian into the world of EFT- emotional freedom technique. I didn’t know what to expect from The Book of Tapping being unfamiliar with this entire method. What I found fascinated me.

What is EFT? :“The central tenet of its theory is that any discontent or disorder in our lives is the result of an imbalance in the energy that flows through our physical bodies. Its main concern is the restoration of harmony using the meridian points of Chinese acupuncture, for which EFT is an emotion-based variation.” loc 18, ebook. “It is commonly believed in the Western World that matter and energy are entirely separate things. However, to understand how EFT works, it is important to recognize that we live in a world comprised of a single energy.” loc 81, ebook. I’m game to try anything once.

I’ve read other new age teachers, Abraham Hicks comes to mind, who teach that everything is vibration. So, to bring about great change, one need only take on a different vibration. I figured that EFT was a “tapping” version of that philosophy.

There are some huge claims made early in this book: “Some of the common problems EFT can eliminate are: Phobias. … Tragic memories. … Irresistible urges. … Difficult emotions. … Restrictive beliefs. … Illness and physical suffering.” loc 65, ebook. “Really?” I thought as I read those pages. “I’ve got to learn how to do this, like yesterday.”

So, utilizing the lessons in The Book of Tapping, yours truly practiced her first rounds of EFT. I wasn’t expecting much, if anything to happen, but the results were surprising. First of all, I noticed a lightness around my head and face. It’s hard to describe, but it was as if a real weight or wet towel dropped off of the top of my head. I was very impressed and kept at it. In successive practices, I didn’t experience that enormous lightness of the first go-round, but it still felt like an improvement over where I had been.

“Once EFT has become a habit, you can also perform tapping rounds in your imagination. All it takes is to close your eyes, concentrate on your problem, and mentally perform the sequences.” loc 564. I memorized the method and use it now at work, in the car, when my co-workers are frustrated, an angry person calls on the phone, or if I have a panicky moment. It could be that it is an excellent in-the-moment distraction from what’s going on or maybe I’m actually changing my vibration. Frankly, I don’t care why it works, I’m just telling you- it works.

Keep an open mind, readers. Saying that, I have to admit, I wouldn’t necessarily have believed it if I hadn’t experienced it first-hand. This EFT thing is for real. Sometimes, I stumble upon books that change my world-view and this is one of those books. The Book of Tapping just might be one for you too.

Thank you to NetGalley and Inner Traditions for a free digital copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

