Feyre lives in a world where the fae are beyond a wall that separates them from the mortal world. Years and years ago, according to the myths, a great war was fought and a boundary was drawn between the two races.

When Feyre shoots an enormous wolf that is more than what it appears, she is drawn into the world beyond the wall which operates under magic and an entirely different set of rules than the world she knows.

Will she survive?

Photo by Luna Lovegood on Pexels.com

I chose to read A Court of Thorns and Roses because of the millions of positive ratings it received on Goodreads. It is an engaging read, but I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as some other readers.

“… any bit of information might help, and if I showed interest in them, perhaps they would warm to me.” pg 79, ebook

I enjoyed the heroine’s discovery of the magical world. I really liked the different creatures and situations that she found there. The exploration part of the book was my favorite part.

I did not enjoy the romance portion of the book and felt like it slowed the action down to a crawl in the middle of the story. Also, this should not be rated as a young adult book. Some of the relationship and sexual elements mark it clearly as new adult, in my mind.

I get that this is a “Beauty and the Beast” re-telling, but there are very few similarities between the two stories. If you’re looking for a fairy tale re-telling, you might want to keep looking.

And, occasionally, I found the actions of the heroine to be infuriating. She made decisions based on no reasoning that I could understand- much like a spoiled teenager. I suppose some could argue that that is exactly what Feyre is, but it wasn’t much fun to read.

Recommended for any readers who are looking for a light fantasy mixed with a lot of romance. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pretty much agree here. I enjoyed the action towards the end quite more then 2/3 of the book. Which gave me the reason to continue with book 2. Which I DNF’d on 90ish% which was also hard because I wanted to know the end but I also knew, I’d never stop, if I hadn’t. I liked the MC here a bit more and also the additional characters but in the end, I honestly know lots of better books.

    Sure,if ACOTAR is one’s first fantasy series.. I’d get it. But I’ve read so many books in my years which made them for me a rather mediocre experience

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment